Taroom, with a population of almost 900, is a picturesque country town on the banks of the Dawson River where the explorer Ludwig Leichhardt and his party camped on their journey from Jimbour to Port Essington in 1844. Leichhardt left his mark “LL. 1844” on what is now an historic Coolibah Tree in the main street.
The northern entrance to the town is marked by an historic ‘Steel Wings’ windmill and the main street of the town is where travellers will find that all their needs can be provided for.
The Information Center has internet access and National Parks and Wildlife information. The Museum can be opened by arrangement. A dump point is located in Wolsey Street and a Caravan Park in North Street.
The town also provides for many outdoor activities. There is a river walk from the Caravan Park to the town center and Gilberts Lookout with a panoramic view of the town and surrounding countryside.
Golf, lawn bowls & tennis are offered year round. The agricultural show is held on the first weekend in May, with rodeos and campdrafts staged throughout the year.
The Taroom Racecourse is one of only four racecourses in Queensland that runs in an anticlockwise direction and it is one of the oldest racecourses in Queensland, dating back to 1871
The district is renowned for quality beef production, grain crops and forestry products. Several large cattle studs hold annual sales with buyers travelling from across the state
Visitors enjoy fishing on the Dawson River and at the Glebe Weir, which is a popular boating, and camping spot.
Flagstaff Hill, 82km north of Taroom has an historically significant section of road, which was constructed in the early 1860s by hand, using large rock slabs. This was part of the road which was used to carry Wool from Roma to the port at Rockhampton
Isla Gorge National Park sits alongside the Leichhardt Highway north of Taroom. A short drive will take you to the lookout and camping ground with spectacular views of the Gorge.
Palm Tree Creek north of Taroom with its unique Livistona Palms is on your way to Lake Murphy Conservation Park, which offers camping and picnic areas linked by walking track to the lake.
Taroom Information Centre : 07 4628 6113